Commission welcomes new chair and board members


Commission welcomes new chair and board members

Media release from the Health Quality & Safety Commission

The Health Quality & Safety Commission is pleased to welcome a new board chair and five new board members.

Our current deputy chair Dr Dale Bramley has replaced Professor Alan Merry as chair. Prof Merry has chaired the board since the establishment of the Commission and has made an enormous contribution over the past nine years. There will be a formal farewell for Prof Merry in November.

The new board members are:
• Rae Lamb, deputy chair
• Dr Jenny Parr
• Mena Antonio
• Shenagh Gleisner
• Professor Peter Crampton.

They join existing board members Dr Gloria Johnson and Mr Andrew Connolly.

Chief executive Dr Janice Wilson says this is an exciting time for the Commission.

'As an organisation we have been privileged to have an extremely committed and effective board and chair, and the new appointees continue this high standard.

'Professor Alan Merry’s vast experience in health and academia and extremely high standing among his peers have been instrumental in guiding the Commission. His input will be greatly missed. We will also miss the commitment and valuable input of outgoing board members Bob Henderson and Dr Bev O’Keefe, as well as Dame Alison Paterson and Gwen Tepania-Palmer who leave in November.

'We are delighted to welcome Dr Dale Bramley as our new chair. Dale has been a valued Commission board member and we look forward to his input as chair.'