Healthcare workers to address Legislation Committee on landmark health reforms


Healthcare workers to address Legislation Committee on landmark health reforms

1 minute to Read

Healthcare workers representing 30,000 members of the country’s largest union will address the Pae Ora Legislation Committee tomorrow, speaking to their submissions and sharing their perspectives in support of the proposed health reforms.

The PSA Te Pūkenga Here Tikanga Mahi members will talk for two minutes each about their own experiences, and about how the proposed reforms provide opportunities to address fundamental problems in our current healthcare system. These problems include chronic staffing shortages - which have been exacerbated by COVID-19 - and inequitable access to healthcare services by different communities.

The speakers represent the perspectives of workers in both DHBs and the community healthcare sector, as well as Māori healthcare sector workers. They come from a range of roles including home support, disability support, mental health, admin and clerical, mental health and public health nurses, allied, public health, and scientific and technical workers.

Allied, public health, scientific and technical healthcare workers deliver specialist healthcare services that sit outside the medical and nursing professions. They include pharmacists, sterile supply workers, medlab scientists, social workers, occupational therapists and physiotherapists.

The Legislation Committee is chaired by Deborah Russell. Its other members are Tamati Coffey, Liz Craig, Matt Doocey, Elizabeth Kerekere, Neru Leavasa, Debbie Ngarewa-Packer, Willow-Jean Prime, Shane Reti, Brooke van Velden and Arena Williams.


Friday 28 January 2022, 11.30am-12.20pm.

Speaker timetable:
- 11.30-11.40am - PSA Working Group Megan Barry, Nia Bartley, Andy Colwell, Michelle Troup
- 11.40-11.50am - Community Public Services Sector Committee Pania Tulia, Keila Jensen, Graham Mohan-Druce, Tracy O’Brien
- 11.50am-12.00pm - DHB Sector Committee Dianna Mancer, Nancy McShane, Grant Brooks
- 12.00-12.10pm - Te Tira Hauora (Māori members in the DHB Sector) Allan Franks, Thereza Clark
- 12.10-12.20pm - PSA overall submission Kerry Davies, Catherine McNamara, Andrea Fromm


At Red, all Legislation Committee sessions are taking place via Zoom. Media are able to watch the submissions via Facebook livestream at this link.